Contact us


How to buy




Company Products Solutions Partner Support Center  


Products : WiEAP


RFC based standards.


Structured in C design pattern.


Easily portable on any OS and RTOS.


Easily portable on any OS and RTOS.


Easily portable on any OS and RTOS.



EAP, is an authentication framework frequently used in wireless networks and Point-to-Point connections. Although EAP is not limited to wireless LANs and can be used for wired LAN authentication, it is most often used in wireless LANs. The WPA and WPA2 standard has adopted five EAP types as its official authentication mechanisms.

EAP is an authentication framework, not a specific authentication mechanism. It provides some common functions and negotiation of authentication methods, called EAP methods. There are currently about 40 different methods defined. Methods defined in IETF RFCs include EAP-MD5, EAP-OTP, EAP-GTC, EAP-TLS, EAP-IKEv2, EAP-SIM, and EAP-AKA, and in addition a number of vendor specific methods and new proposals exist. Commonly used modern methods capable of operating in wireless networks include EAP-TLS, EAP-SIM, EAP-AKA, PEAP,LEAP and EAP-TTLS.

When EAP is invoked by an 802.1X enabled Network Access Server (NAS) device such as an 802.11 Wireless Access Point, modern EAP methods can provide a secure authentication mechanism and negotiate a secure Pair-wise Master Key (PMK) between the client and NAS. The PMK can then be used for the wireless encryption session which uses TKIP or CCMP(based on AES) encryption.

EAP is not a wire protocol; instead it only defines message formats. Each protocol that uses EAP defines a way to encapsulate EAP messages within that protocol's messages. In the case of 802.1X, this encapsulation is called EAPOL, "EAP over LANs".


Copyright © 2008 -2010 Satyav Networks All rights reserved.